About Wall Primers II

Two years in the making. There are probably not many painters that can talk about wall primers like I can. My current issue with trying to get a nice eggshell finish over new drywall has put me on a path of learning everything there is to know about the capabilities of primers and there are more issues with using a primer vs. not.

What are wall primers capable of? Nothing if you ask me unless you apply primer with an airless about 20 mil thick, then maybe you might have something but not always. Remember, I am talking about primer on new drywall. Primers are typically no different than another coat of paint and in most cases I’ve seen, paint provides a better bond to new board over primers. WOW! That sort of changes everything you’ve been told about always use a primer huh? Well, that’s no bull shit!

Of the 12 primers I have now spent countless hours with over the past two years testing, there’s only one I feel gives the best results for paints where sheen is important. ICI Gripper does not dry flat and its absorption in to new drywall is minimal.

Primers are often said to be a miracle product. Paint reps tend to think of primer as a foundation to a successful paint finish. Yeah well, let me tell you – that is a bunch of BS! Paint reps tell you they provide a better bond, they minimize porosity in drywall etc. A paint rep once told me that primer will stop nailpops. Holy smokes that is amazing!

Do you know what wall primer in fact does? Primer wastes your time and your money AND some primers will even add more work to your project or even worst, cause unforeseen new problems. For example, loss of sheen. Did you know that of all 12 primers, only ICI Gripper maintained sheen level. Other primers require 3 top coats to achieve full sheen. Most primers will suck up sheen like crazy even the ones that advertise "HOLDS GLOSS"… my ass it holds gloss. Seriously, who is testing these products?

I got banned from an online paint message board (idiots)before I could answer back on this topic. Apparently there are some painters who feel threatened when you come to the table with information they never heard of or information that sounds absurd. I understand, I do, just remember – until you go through what I went through product testing 12 primers over two years, I would suggest you take my word for it.

Some of my worst issues with painting in my 30 years experience have been due to failure of primer but not only with drywall. I am uncertain if the primer itself is failing or the primer is failing to do what it’s advertised to do. I don’t care really either way. The bottom line is, wall primer is useless.
 
Some of my readers may be aware of the tread on a certain message board. The answer is this: The paint I talked about ICI 1410 sticks better to new drywall and taped drywall joints than any of the 12 primers I tested. You can apply a piece of masking tape to new drywall primed with your favorite primer and pull the tape and primer and paint off the wall. And please save me the "you didn’t prep it right" BS.

Coming soon – How to treat or not treat new drywall

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

