Sherwin Williams K46 W 51

We do not use Sherwin Williams paints but I am very familiar with their products. I actually enjoy testing new products, which is how the PRE-CATALYZED Waterbased Epoxy came into my hands. What I look for first in a paint is ease of application with a brush. I want nothing to do with products that waste my time on the job –slow, tacky and no working-time. Once I find a product that applies nice, I look for how long I have to work with it using a brush. The product must cover, hide and achieve full sheen in no more than 2 coats. Also leveling, dry-time and durability are important. Apparently all of that is asking for too much. I only know of one product on the market that does all that.

When I first popped the lid off this gallon I was hoping for one product from Sherwin Williams that would impress me, but that did not happen. There is nothing about the ease of application that sets it apart from the rest. The characteristics of this product are common place for Sherwin Williams, generally difficult and slow to apply and no working-time with one exception of course, their Duration Home. Only if all paints spread like Duration Home.

If a professional finish with a brush cannot be achieved easily, that’s generally when my testing stops. It’s a waste of my time at that point because that’s an immediate sign this product will not keep up with me on the job. Instead, it will slow me down trying to work it to a nice finish. This product will cost me money to use. I would have to spray everything to achieve a professional finish with this product and that is simply not going to happen in my line of work.

This product was tested at temperature of 64º with humidity at 68% on a rainy damp day. I applied this product to a factory pre-primed piece of trim with six nail holes filled with oil-based putty. The product was also applied to a previously primed (by me) piece of crown. The nail putty residue smudges were visible through the first coat. Click the photo to enlarge and look carefully, that bleed through is a common characteristic of an oil-based paint.

The product set-up in a fast 2:12 seconds and was tacky in 5:34 secs. The samples in this humidity were still tacky after 60 minutes. The fastest I can paint one side of 6 panel door is 5 minutes 40 seconds. It would be impossible for me to blend the lower middle portion of a door with the upper portion with this product using a brush, there simply is no working time. ProClassic Acrylic and Oil both perform just like this product for comparison. On my sample pieces as short as they are, I applied a nice coat and the product hardly leveled at all and it drags.

I did however notice this product has nice adhesion. Generally products that absorb or penetrate into the substrate adhere well. I will test for adhesion when the product is fully cured in 7-10 days. This product would be good on previously painted surfaces such as painted block walls or flush steel doors in commercial applications or schools. I have a hunch this product will clean and wear like an oil-based product so that’s promising. The dried finish feels similar to touching the finish on a car, glassy, glossy-like, and candy coated. The product tested was a semi-gloss, but I would call this high gloss.

Understand this was not a full test of the product, generally I put much more into reviews but could not get past the application aspect to have this product fit into my workflow but I do see a need for this product in certain spraying applications. I am impressed with how it feels dry, only if it had leveled. More to come…

UPDATED INFO: 2nd coat observations

I used non-loading 180 grit 3M Tri-M-ite sandpaper to sand all of the 1st coat gloss off but only to the point where the gloss began to dull out. My goal was to remove the brush marks from 1st coat that did not level over Zinsser Cover-Stain oil-based primer. No noticeable brush marks were now visible. After applying 2nd coat, some of the finish absorbed into the dull sanded 1st coat but was minimal. The 2nd coat did however level better than the first coat, expectedly but did not pull tight enough to level the brush marks entirely. I used a Benjamin Moore 65125 2 ½” angle brush for both coats.

Am I happy with the finish? Not really, its average. I was unable to capture the gloss accurately with the camera, looks semi-gloss in the photo but its much glossier.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

